Forgot Password?

New to Parikshacorner.com?
Register Here

SSC CGL Syllabus and exam pattern

The Tier I exam consists of a written objective multiple-choice exam with four sections, covering the subjects of:SSC CGL stands for "Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level". It is one of the most popular government exams in India. Candidates who qualify all the rounds of the SSC CGL exam will be recruited for various Group 'B' and Group 'C' posts in different ministries & government departments.  Combined Graduated Level Examination (In short known as 'CGL Exam' or 'CGLE') is an examination conducted by the Staff Selection Commission to recruit Group B and C officers to various posts in top ministries, departments and organisations of Government of India. The Staff Selection Commission was established in 1975.
Candidates applying for the various posts need to have a bachelor's degree from a recognised university at the time of applying. The age requirements are between 20 and 30 years. The age limits may vary depending on the position applied. For instance, the position for Inspector of Central Bureau of Narcotics which had an age range from 18 to 27 years, was extended to 30 years in September 2018.The application fee for 2017 is Rs. 100. All women candidates and candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe, Physically Handicapped, and Ex-Servicemen eligible for reservation are exempted from paying application fee.
The examination has several tiers which are conducted over different days with results posted after each tier. Previous exams also included an interview tier, but following a government order, interviews have been dispensed with for all non-gazetted posts in the central government as of 1 January 2016. A computer proficiency test or a skill test was also added as a tier for some posts.
 There are four major tiers of examination.
Tier I: Preliminary: The Tier I exam consists of a written objective multiple-choice exam with four sections, covering the subjects of:
General Intelligence and Reasoning
General Awareness
Quantitative Aptitude
English Comprehension
The exam was typically scored with maximum 50 Marks per section for a total of 200 Marks.The latest versions of this exam such as with 2018 have been conducted online.
Based on results from Tier I, qualified candidates can then take the Tier II and Tier III exams.
Tier II: Mains Exam 
Also known as the Mains Exam, the Tier II exam consists of written objective multiple-choice exam, in three sections (also called "Papers"), covering the subjects of:
        Module-1:Mathematical Abilities
        Module-2:Reasoning and General Intelligence
        Module-1:English Language and Comprehension
        Module-2:General Awareness
        Module-1:Computer Knowledge Module
        Module-2:Data Entry Speed Test Module
       General Studies(Finance and Economics)

To get the complete details about exam pattern and syllabus click here....